2016 Lumber Boom to Barons

Millionaires’ Row • 1st Ave • James Rd • West 7th St
• Duboistown •

Saturday,  November 19th
9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

These photos are copyrighted. Please ask permission before using.
Richard Karp    rikkisan.com    570.244.7131
Download the 2016 Brochure here.
Download the 2016 Map here.

 

The Harrar House
915 West Fourth Street

The Harrar House 915 West Fourth Street

The Harrar House 915 West Fourth Street

Sponsor: Fairfield Auto Group
Owner/Chair: Bob Esposito
Florist: Janet’s Floral Creations, Janet Johns

This eleven-room brick Victorian Italianate Villa was built for Lucy Eutermarks in 1870 as a wedding gift from her parents, Samuel and Emma Ott Filbert, and was perhaps designed by Eber Culver, noted Williamsport architect. The house was originally assigned 913 West Fourth Street, but the bride’s parents, thinking this was unlucky, had the house number changed to 915. Of all the homes in the Historic District, only two have remained single family homes throughout their existence, and this is one of them. Having been occupied by the Harrar family from the late 1890’s, the home was purchased from them by Robert Esposito in 1982 and has been completely restored to the way it might have appeared more than a hundred years ago. Since appearing on tour eight years ago the kitchen has been newly remodeled.

 

The Hartshorn House
419 West Fourth Street

The Hartshorn House 419 West Fourth Street

The Hartshorn House 419 West Fourth Street

Hartshorn House

The Hartshorn House

Sponsor: The James Wood Company
Owners: Gloria Miele
Co-Chairs: Nan Young & Ashley Bogart
Florist: Lady Di’s Floral & Garden Art, Diane Franklin

Built in the 1860’s for Frederick Hartshorn, a prosperous mill owner, the house has had many lives. In 1920, following WWI, it became the Garrett Cochran Post 1 American Legion. In the 1950’s, a three story brick front was added for retail space, completely covering the Victorian facade. Gloria Miele bought the home in November 2015 and removed the brick addition and restored the front. The house is still undergoing renovation. Note the drawn plaster moldings that extend to the second floor and the curving staircase that has been cut up but still extends to the third floor.

 

The Community Arts Center
220 West Fourth Street

Community Arts Center 220 West Fourth Street

Community Arts Center 220 West Fourth Street

Sponsor: Ed and Linda Alberts
Self-Guided Tour

The restored Community Arts Center resonates with the splendor of the holiday season. The inner lobby features the giant decorated Christmas tree reaching to the ceiling in this beautifully restored art deco room. Visitors can also view the Capitol Lounge and enjoy the ambiance of the season.

 

The George E. Graff House
18 West Seventh Street

The George E. Graff House 18 West Seventh Street

The George E. Graff House 18 West Seventh Street

George E. Graff House

George E. Graff House

Sponsor: David & Heather Pfleegor
Owner/Co-Chairs: Robyn Hannan & Christen Ditzler
Florist: Nevill’s Flowers, Melissa Iseley

This blend of Gothic and Folk Victorian style home perched atop Seventh Street was built in the 1860’s. The house became known as “The Graff House” throughout the late 19th Century and early 20th Century due to community leader, inventor and businessman George E. Graff. He was a highly respected businessman owning “The Williamsport Sun” and later “The Gazette” and WRAK. Because he enjoyed hosting parties at his home, many distinguishing features adorn the home: hardwood floors, plaster architectural molding, original lighting, marble fireplace and decorative transom. The outside features with its charming side porch and hidden slate patio make this downtown home a gem.

 

The Carson/Welch House
941 First Avenue

The Carson/Welch House 941 First Avenue

The Carson/Welch House 941 First Avenue

Sponsor: Keystone Wood Products Association
Owner: Mary Welch
Co-Chairs: Ruth Grieco & Deb Decker
Florist: Lady Di’s Floral & Garden Art, Diane Franklin

Built in 1930 by Herbert Carson, this is a handsome 3-story white colonial home with center hallway and beautiful hardwood floors. The home is complimented by numerous family antiques and an original still-life painting by Severin Roesen. Note the brass chandelier located on the first floor, which came from the former Ross Club in downtown Williamsport.

 

The G. W. Crooks House
1600 James Road

The Carson/Welch House

The G. W. Crooks House 1600 James Road

Sponsor: Bastian Tire and Auto Centers
Owner: Don Lundy
Co-Chairs: Nicole Nardi
Florist: Nevill’s Flowers, Melissa Iseley

This lovely Vallamont home was constructed in 1926 for the George W. Crooks family, owners of the W.D. Crooks and Sons Door Company (manufacturers of fine hardwood doors). This French Country home, nestled on the hillside of a wooded lot, incorporates various unique architectural features: mansard slate roof, interior slate flooring and staircase, beautiful pegged walnut floors, a walnut paneled den and a floor plan which ties together multiple split-levels to accommodate construction on the steep Campbell Street hillside.

 

James V. Brown Library
19 East Fourth Street

James V. Brown Library 19 East Fourth Street

James V. Brown Library 19 East Fourth Street

Sponsor: Lewis Lumber Products

The James V. Brown Library was a gift to the city of Williamsport from James Vanduzee Brown, a prominent citizen who made his fortune in lumber and grain mills, and was instrumental in the founding of the Williamsport Municipal Water Authority. The Library was designed by Edgar V. Seeler and opened to the public on June 18, 1907. Entering through the Fourth Street foyer, visitors encounter the marble statues of Ruth and Beatrice Portinari which were part of Brown’s personal collection. The magnificent Moltz Rotunda Reading Room is part of the original structure and contains the stained glass dome skylight and recently installed wrought iron gazebo.

 

City Hall Grand Hotel
454 Pine Street

City Hall Grand Hotel

City Hall Grand Hotel 454 Pine Street

City Hall Grand Hotel

City Hall Grand Hotel

Sponsor: Airmen Heating and Air Conditioning
Owners: Tim and Sandra Butters
Chair: Sandra Butters
Florist: Special Occasion Florals, Karen Ruhl

Built in 1893 by Eber Culver, Old City Hall is no longer just for the commercial tenant that appreciates the eclectic late Victorian, Romanesque Revival-style of this remarkable landmark. In January, the building’s third floor was taken down to the bones and renovated into the very unique CITY HALL GRAND HOTEL.

Open showers, separate toilet rooms, sliding doors and custom-made furnishings give each room an industrial look with no two rooms being alike. Beautifully-restored photographs allow each visitor a chance to stroll through Williamsport’s rich history, beginning with our founder, Michael Ross. Each of the twelve new rooms is dedicated to a special piece of our city’s past, remembering the devastating floods, wars, and humble beginnings as well as celebrating the lumber boom, baseball, and those men and women who made Williamsport the city it is today.

This five-story building of yellow brick was added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 7, 1976. For Reservations: cityhallgrandhotel.com.
The Artisan’s Holiday Market will be featured on the first floor and lower level.

 

YWCA
815 West Fourth Street

YWCA 815 West Fourth Street

YWCA 815 West Fourth Street

Sponsors: Brickyard & Stonehouse Pizza

The cornerstone for the majestic home of the YWCA Northcentral PA was laid in 1928, after a dedicated team of women raised $450,000 for construction in a mere five days. The centerpiece of this 70,000 sq. ft. Georgian-style building is the breath-taking rotunda. Griffins, gold-leaf and vibrant colors highlight this work of art commissioned and created by Marguerite Bierman. Take a moment to notice the marble thresholds, hand-carved wooden details and crystal chandeliers adorning the decor.

 

The Historic Genetti Hotel
200 West Fourth Street

The Historic Genetti Hotel 200 West Fourth Street

The Historic Genetti Hotel 200 West Fourth Street

Sponsor: Woolrich Inc.
In Memoriam: Mr. Lynn Womer

Built in 1922, The Lycoming Hotel stood 10 stories tall. Mr. Gus Genetti purchased the hotel in 1976 and worked very hard to maintain the elegant atmosphere. The hotel to this day attracts many notable guests and is still the tallest building in the city. Being located in the heart of downtown Williamsport, the Genetti is the premier place to visit and offers great walking abilities to many shops and restaurants. Victorian Christmas tourists are welcome to walk through the historic hotel lobby and take in the beautiful Christmas decorations while enjoying some complimentary
light refreshments.

 

The Thomas T. Taber Museum
Lycoming County Historical Society
858 West Fourth Street

The Thomas T. Taber Museum

The Thomas T. Taber Museum

Sponsor: Franco’s Lounge / Cloud 9 Restaurant

For Victorian Christmas, the Thomas T. Taber Museum of the Lycoming County Historical Society will be alive with the sound of “All Aboard!” as its Community Room is enlivened with train layouts, an extension of the Will Huffman Toy Train Expo. Surrounding the room will be stunning artworks, the best of the Bald Eagle Art League. While you are here, view our detailed lumbering exhibits, the Larue Shempp Model Train Collection, the works of Severin Roesen, J. Wesley Little, Bernard Katz, and all our galleries and exhibits!

 

The Rowley House Museum
707 West Fourth Street

The Rowley House 707 West Fourth Street

The Rowley House 707 West Fourth Street

Rowley House

Rowley House, 707 West Fourth Street

Rowley House

Rowley House

Sponsor: Wheeland Lumber Co.
Owner: Preservation Williamsport
Chair: Robert Kane, Rowley House Museum Curator
Florist: Special Occasion Florals, Karen Ruhl 

This magnificent 1888 three-story brick mansion was designed by Eber Culver for millionaire Edwin A. Rowley and is one of the most significant Queen Anne Victorian Houses in Pennsylvania. From an originality standpoint, craftsmanship and overall condition this home truly exemplifies Millionaire’s Row. Nothing was spared by multi-millionaire Edwin A. Rowley when he built this imposing structure which features extraordinary Tiffany quality stained glass windows, beautiful cherry and oak woodwork, and extremely rare electric light fixtures. Only the finest woods were used befitting a residence in the “lumber capital of the world.” Admire the elaborately carved staircase in the main entrance hall, the dining room with its built-in buffet and the numerous fireplaces throughout.

 

Over the Bridge to Duboistown…

The Joseph W. Cochran House
440 Edgewood Avenue

440

The Joseph W. Cochran House 440 Edgewater Avenue

Cochran House

Cochran House

Cochran House

Cochran House

Sponsor: Huffman’s Office Equipment Co.
Owners: James R. and Joann C. Ertel
Chair: Ruthanne Crotty
Florist: Special Occasion Florals, Karen Ruhl

Built in 1919, the Ertels are the third family to live in the home designed by architect Horance Trumbauer (1868-1938) of Philidelphia. Joseph W. Cochran and his wife, Nelle McCormick Cochran, were the first owners, followed by James W. and Arlette S. Crooks family. Nestled between the mountains and Mosquito Creek, the Ertels have maintained the original architectural features of the home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Christ Episcopal Church
426 Mulberry Street, 9 AM – 4 PM

Episcopal Church of Christ

Christ Episcopal Church

Christ Church is the city’s oldest Episcopal Church. A parish church was organized in 1841 and the first church building was located on the present site of the New Covenant Church. In 1869, the now standing Christ Church was built with its first service held on Christmas Day. This Victorian Norman-Gothic structure is adorned with stained glass windows many of which are Tiffany, and a pipe organ.
Ongoing sanctuary tours and refreshments will be served.

 

First Presbyterian Church
102 East Third Street, 9 AM – 4 PM

First Presbyterian Church

First Presbyterian Church

First Presbyterian Church

First Presbyterian Church

Built in 1883 at the corner of Mulberry and East Third Street, the First Church of Williamsport (as it was then known) has a rising ceiling vault of 35 feet supporting magnificent bejeweled glass windows, some predating Tiffany Studios of New York. In 1995, local artist Marguerite Bierman brought renewal and vibrancy to the sanctuary’s carvings, columns, brackets and luminous Tiffany Cross. Exhibits of art, needle work and quilts by church members will be displayed. The West Branch Barbershop Chorus will present a joyous program of Christmas music from 11:00 until noon in the sanctuary. Come in, sit down or move about freely and enjoy the music in the beauty of the sanctuary. 

 

New Covenant United Church of Christ
202 East Third Street, 9 AM – 5 PM

New Covenant United Church of Christ

New Covenant United Church of Christ

New Covenant United Church of Christ

New Covenant United Church of Christ

Sponsor: Servpro, Wmspt. & Mtsv. • Ben & Jerry Kimble

New Covenant United Church of Christ is the only UCC church in Lycoming County and home to the United Churches of Lycoming County. The church site was originally Episcopal and German Lutheran congregations and is now a merged church of Evangelical and Reformed Congregational-UCC. German artifacts including stained glass give a Narthex welcome.

 

City Alliance Church (formerly First Baptist Church)
380 West Fourth Street, 9 AM – 4 PM

City Alliance

City Alliance Church

Sponsor: Moon & Raven Public House Restaurant

This landmark church was originally designed and built by Eber Culver in 1854 on land donated by Peter Herdic whose wife was a member of the congregation. After being destroyed by floods, the original building was torn down in 1889. The main sanctuary was completed in 1914. The church is an example of the Romanesque style architecture with mountain stone quarried from this area. The present church is known for its beautiful sanctuary with the eight stained glass windows depicting Baptist patriarchs. The jewel of all the windows faces West Fourth Street and depicts the baptism of Jesus. Designed in London and built in New York City by Young and Bonawitz in 1914, the windows were taken apart to be transported to Williamsport.

The Williamsport Youth Choir will perform from 11 AM – 12 PM in the sanctuary.

Building tours, live music and a food court will be available throughout the day.

 

Saint Joseph the Worker Parish
702 West Fourth Street, 10 AM – 3 PM

St Joseph the Worker Parish

St Joseph the Worker Parish

St Joseph the Worker Parish

St Joseph the Worker Parish

Sponsor: Allison, Inc.

Built in 1886 by Amos Wagner on land donated by Peter Herdic, the church was built to service the Irish-Catholic community. It is an example of the Romanesque style architecture and the sandstone came from the Ralston Quarry. The church has a multi-gabled slate roof and walls with colored belt courses. There are 43 arched stained glass windows. The entryway and entry doors are semi-circular. The bell tower is open with a decorative cornice and patterned stone. The center tower was capped when three workers fell to their death during construction. The interior has marble altars and Tiffany windows, including “The Accession of Christ” behind the main altar installed in the early 1900s. The church seats 600 people and features an abundance of marble and gold décor. You must see this beautiful church. Sanctuary tours 10 AM – 3 PM.

Lunch, beverages and crafts from 9 AM – 3 PM
Served next door in the Monsignor William J. Fleming Parish Center.

 

Covenant Central Presbyterian Church
807 West Fourth Street, 9 AM – 4 PM

Covenant Central Presbyterian Church

Covenant Central Presbyterian Church

Covenant Central Presbyterian Church

Covenant Central Presbyterian Church

Sponsor: Don Lundy

Built in 1909 in the Richardson Romanesque style, this structure is marble and granite including the front steps all of which was quarried at the Avondale Quarry near Philadelphia. The roof is terracotta tile and copper with thick window lintels, large semi-circular arched entries, three doors with stained glass, and many arched, stained glass windows. The church has an eight-sided dome in the sanctuary, which includes a cross on top, made of solid oak with hammered copper overlay.

 

Trinity Episcopal Church
844 West Fourth Street, 9 AM – 4 PM

Trinity Episcopal Church

Trinity Episcopal Church

Trinity Episcopal Church

Trinity Episcopal Church

Sponsor: Citizens & Northern Bank

Built in 1875 by Culver and Thorn, the church was paid for by Peter Herdic who donated not only the land but also the building to Trinity Parish for one dollar as long as the pews remain “forever free.” Peter Herdic’s father-in-law, Judge Maynard, presented the church with the first set of nine-bell Westminster chimes in America, the same type of chimes heard in the Big Ben Tower of London. An example of English Gothic architecture, the church was built with stone quarried locally from Bald Eagle Mountain and brownstone from Hummelstown, PA. Note the pointed arches and windows, steeply pitched colored slate roof, and 265-foot spire. In an 1876 issue of the Parish Dial, the following passage appears describing the church’s windows, “Words cannot paint the loveliness of these windows.” The lead-glass makers Aickin and Isaac of Philadelphia conscientiously adhered to the true idea of glass staining which does not consist of painting the various colors upon large sheets of glass, but in leading separate pieces together so as to present a transparent mosaic. The side windows show exquisite geometrical designs.

A Victorian Soup Lunch featuring 3 varieties of soup, parmesan toast, dessert, and beverage will be served $9.00/person 11 AM – 2 PM.

 


The Committee Wishes to
Pay Special Acknowledgement to:

• The Homeowners who shared their Homes
• The Sponsors
• Photographer – Richard Karp,  rikkisan.com  570.244.7131
• Brochure/Ticket Design – Sandra Norton Butters